Time Bound

Cee Cee Elle
1 min readJun 23, 2019

If had more time,
I wouldn’t wish it gone so fast.
Wouldn’t rush to an age when years dissolve in minutes.
Would savor the slow unfurling hours,
Unburdened by the weight of what’s to come.

If I had more time,
I wouldn’t mistake myself for the enemy.
Wouldn’t lay siege to my source.
Would order my forces to retreat, knowing well
That life scars too deeply to self-inflict.

If I had more time,
I wouldn’t tilt against destiny.
Wouldn’t put miles between me and my maker.
Would cherish the gestures, the words
That bind across space and time and generation.

If I had more time,
I wouldn’t give it all to you.
Wouldn’t fall into the hole in your life.
Would know the difference between glitter and gold,
And which I deserve.

If I had more time,
I wouldn’t search so long.
Wouldn’t equate lonely with alone.
Would do the math, and know
Another half does not make one whole.

If I had more time,
I would make it all up to me.

--

--

Cee Cee Elle

(Public health) nerd. (Aspiring) creative. Generally conflicted.